About the Trustees

Miss Anthea McIntyre (Chair)

Appointed 20th September 2021

Miss Anthea McIntyre is an experienced project manager, systems designer, business consultant and company director. 


A Member of the European Parliament for the West Midlands (2011-2020).  She was Coordinator on Employment and Social Affairs Committee, a Member of Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs Committee and also the Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee. 


A Former County Councillor, she served for eight years on a Local Education Authority.  She has been

 member of Education, Schools and Personnel Committees and chair of Youth and Careers Committee.  She has over time been a governor at John Kyrle High School, Hereford Cathedral School, Monmouth School, Whitecross School (Hereford), Hereford Technical College, Ashfield Park Primary School, St Joseph’s Primary School, St James’s Primary School, St Martin’s Primary School and Walford School. 


Currently a Board Member and Trustee, Whitehaven Trust Ltd. (2020 to date) she is a former Home Office appointed Trustee of the Community Development Foundation.

Mr Jon Sturgess CEng, FICE

Appointed 20th September 2021

Jon Sturgess is a Chartered Engineer with over 28 years’ experience in engineering within the UK and Far East.  Jon is Head of Design, Southwest, at Network Rail where he manages multi-disciplinary teams across four offices, completing early-stage design projects.


He started his career as a site engineer building bridges, roads and ports, with some of the largest UK contractors before progressing to Director and working in various Consultancies. He has significant experience operating in the UK & Asia and is recognised for leading multi-discipline design teams in the private & public sectors. He has lived in Asia for seven years where he set up his own company specializing in structural monitoring of buildings, bridges, dams and deep excavations during construction.


Jon is a Trustee and has been the Chairman of the Institution of Civil Benevolent Fund.  Jon has three children, two sons who have completed their education at JKHS and a daughter who is currently being taught in the school.

Mr Scott Parker

Appointed 29th November 2021


Scott Parker is a public servant with experience in commissioning, service redesign, emergency planning and performance oversight.


Scott currently works in the NHS as Director of Performance and Accountable Emergency Officer, covering Herefordshire and Worcestershire. His most recent focus has been the delivery of the COVID-19 vaccination programme as the Senior Responsible Officer. Through his work Scott is particularly focused on reducing the impact of inequality on health outcomes and brings the same passion to education.


Scott has two sons, one of whom is already educated at JKHS with the other soon to join.   


Resigned Trustees

  • Mr Rick Stevenson: Member. (Resigned September 2020)

  • Mr Robert Jones: Parent (resigned September 2020)

  • Mr Matthew Way; Parent (resigned February 2021)

  • Mrs Denise Strutt; Community (Chair) (resigned April 2021)

  • Mr Brent Vinall (resigned May 2021)

  • Mr David Potter (resigned May 2021)

  • Mrs Lisa Chaplain (resigned May 2021)

  • Mr Nick Dale (resigned May 2021)

  • Mrs Diane Hudson (resigned May 2021)

  • Mrs Hayley Knapper (resigned May 2021)

  • Mr Robert Leather (resigned May 2021)

  • Mrs Julie Markey (resigned May 2021)

  • Miss Helen Mather (resigned May 2021)

  • Mr Andrew Middlecote (resigned May 2021)

  • Mr Tim Murray (resigned May 2021)

  • Mrs Kate NIcholls (resigned May 2021)

  • Mrs Laura Salter (resigned May 2021)

  • Mr Murray Alston (Chair) (resigned August 2021)

  • Mr Alan Wilson (resigned August 2021)

  • Mr Steve Hodsman (resigned August 2021)

  • Mrs Seeta Mepani (resigned August 2021)

  • Mr Rodney Barker: Community (Chair) (resigned April 2022)

  • Mr Michael Nelson (resigned April 2022).

  • Mrs Karen Scott (resigned 29 April 2022)