ABOUT US

John Kyrle High School and Sixth Form Centre is a fully comprehensive 11-18 school in the rural town of Ross-on-Wye.

To report any issues with this site please email webadmin@jkhs.org.uk.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
ADDRESS

Ledbury Road

Ross-on-Wye

Herefordshire

HR9 7ET

(For sat nav use HR9 7AJ)

Tel. (01989) 764358

Email: admin@jkhs.org.uk

© 2018 John Kyrle High School

Maths

Mathematics at John Kyrle High School is one of the school’s most popular subjects and we are proud to have a dedicated team of mathematics teachers and a purpose-built building. We aim to cultivate students’ independent thinking and logical problem solving skills while preparing them to deal with all aspects of mathematics in their chosen career and everyday life. In Maths, students and teachers work together to create a positive learning environment where a variety of methods are used to ensure that students develop the skills they require and are thoroughly prepared for the demands of a more rigorous curriculum. 

​​Teaching Staff

Mr Paul Manns – Head of Department, email: p.manns@jkhs.org.uk

Mrs Sara Sharples - Second in Department, Head of KS5 maths, email: s.sharples@jkhs.org.uk

Mr George Miles - Head of KS4 maths, email: g.miles@jkhs.org.uk

Miss Zoe Sharp – Head of KS3 maths, email: zoesharp@jkhs.org.uk

Miss Jenny Costa Penny, email: j.costapenny@jkhs.org.uk

Mrs Julie Markey (Head of Year), email: juliemarkey@jkhs.org.uk
Mr Matt Penny (Head of Year), email: m.penny@jkhs.org.uk
Mrs Natalie Field, email: n.field@jkhs.org.uk
Ms Carole Scanlan, email: c.scanlan@jkhs.org.uk

Mrs Jenny Taylorson, email: j.taylorson@jkhs.org.uk

Mrs Susan Long, email: s.long@jkhs.org.uk

Mr Wil Treasure, email: w.treasure@jkhs.org.uk

Mrs Sara Sharples

Second in department, 

Head of KS5 maths

Mr Paul Manns

Head of department

Mr George Miles

Head of KS4 Maths

Miss Zoe Sharp

Head of KS3 Maths

Homework

 

Homework will be set at least once per week for Years 7-11 and where possible homework should not be due the day after it is set.

 

  • KS3: Guideline homework durations are 20-30 min. This can vary depending on the topic studied.

  • KS4: Guideline homework durations are 30-40 min. This can vary depending on the topic studied.

  • KS5: Students are expected to complete 1 hour of homework for every lesson.

Equipment

 

Students are expected to bring their own equipment to every lesson. This includes pens (black/blue and green), pencil, ruler, protractor, a pair of compasses and calculator.

The Maths department have various items of essential stationary available for students to purchase. Please click here for details and a price list.

Key Stage 3

On arrival at JKHS, students will be placed into interim sets for mathematics. Data from primary schools (standardised scores from SATs  and teacher assessed data) are used initially for setting. These sets are constantly monitored to ensure optimum learning environments for students as they progress through the school.

 

At the beginning of Year 7, time is dedicated to focusing on developing number and calculation skills to aid the transition from KS2 to KS3; this lasts for half a term.

After this, students cover a variety of topics in the five main areas of mathematics: algebra, number, geometry & measures, ratio and proportion, and statistics. Problem solving and functional skills are incorporated into the scheme of work throughout the year. Students follow the MyMaths for key stage 3 scheme of work which directly links to the MyMaths website and will prepare students for the rigour of KS4.

Students in KS3 will be assessed at the end of each half term; in addition, students will have the opportunity to sit mock examinations. After the final end of year exam in Year 8 the students will then begin some preparatory work for starting the GCSE course in Year 9.  GCSE mathematics is started in Year 9 at JKHS to ensure that students have the required time to study and develop both the breadth and depth of the course, at a speed that maximises their understanding.

Key Stage 4

All KS4 students (Years 9, 10 & 11) are following a syllabus which will lead to a GCSE. Students will be entered for Higher (up to a grade 9) or Foundation (up to a grade 5) examinations as appropriate, and follow the 2015 Edexcel GCSE specification. 

Students in KS4 will be assessed at the end of each topic.  In addition, students will have the opportunity to sit mock examinations in a formal examination environment towards the end of the year.

 

KS4 support is offered in room 142 on a Wednesday lunchtime.

Key Stage 5

Year 12 Maths students are following the 2017 Edexcel AS specification. All students follow the same course and will study Pure Maths, Statistics and Mechanics. At the end of Year 12 they will sit exams in AS Mathematics.

Year 12 Further Maths students are following the 2017 Edexcel AS Further Maths specification. All students follow the same course and will study Pure Core Maths and Decision Maths. At the end of Year 12 they will sit exams in AS Further Mathematics.

Year 13 Maths students are following the 2017 Edexcel A-level Maths specification. All students follow the same course and will study Pure Maths, Statistics and Mechanics. At the end of Year 13 they will sit exams in A-level Mathematics. 

Year 13 Further Maths students are following the 2017 Edexcel A-level Further Maths specification. All students follow the same course and will study Pure Core Maths and Decision Maths. At the end of Year 13 they will sit exams in A-level Further Mathematics.

The Exam Board provided Formulae Booklet can be found here.

Careers in Maths

 

If you are considering a career in mathematics you may want to visit the mathscareers website.